The Silent Wife

The Silent Wife is the latest thriller from Karin Slaughter. This is a fast-paced story that will keep your heart pounding until you read the last page. It’s actually the tenth book in the Will Trent series, but it was my first time reading this series and I had no trouble reading this as a standalone title.

There has been a terrible accident, but upon investigation Jeffrey Tolliver and medical examiner Sara Linton discover that there is actually a serial killer on the loose in a small town in Grant County.  They think they have found the man responsible, but now many years later that convicted murderer is claiming to have proof to show he’s as innocent as he’s always claimed to be.

As the hunt intensifies to find the real killer it becomes a race against the clock to identify him before he hurts more woman. GBI Special Agent Will Trent and Sara Linton must now re-investigate the original case from all those years ago in the hopes to find clues and solve this case once and for all.

You’ll discover more about the story through two different timelines, the first with Sara and her then ex-husband Jeffrey and the second with Sara and her now boyfriend Will. The story unravels slowly, and you’ll find yourself peeling back the layers to find the truth at the same pace that the characters do. It’s for this reason that you won’t want to put this book down, which somehow manages to strike a delicate balance between the horrific acts of violence perpetrated by the killer and a tender love story between Sara and Will.

The Silent Wife is available from bookstores and online retailers for a recommended retail price of R320. I would definitely assign a trigger warning to this book for violence against women and rape.

I buddy read this book together with my friends Nadia and Simone, so make sure you also check out their reviews of this title. Nadia has read all of the Karin Slaughter books so she has more insight into the characters in her review, and it’s clear from Simone’s review that she’s now hooked on this series too!

Thanks to Jonathan Ball Publishers for sharing this gripping read with me.

Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply